Read Website 10:47 AM   
home >> TV Broadcasting Licensing

TV Broadcasting Licensing

With the promulgation of Decree 24 by the then Federal Military Government in May 1977 the Nigerian Television Authority (NTA) was born. The decree which took effect retrospectively from April 1976 brought all the ten existing television stations under the control of the Federal Government of Nigeria. These included Western Nigerian Television (WNTV) established in 1959 which later became NTA Ibadan, Eastern Nigerian Television (ENTV) 1960 later to be known as NTA Enugu and Radio Kaduna Television (RKTV) in 1962 which later split to become NTA Kaduna and FRCN Kaduna. These were established by their various regional governments.

Television stations were later established in the remaining state capitals where none existed.

By the promulgation of Decree 24, the Authority became the only body empowered to undertake television broadcasting in Nigeria, therefore all the ten existing state television stations then, were incorporated into NTA.

It is pertinent to note that, the exclusive rights to television broadcasting enjoyed by the Authority when it was inaugurated in May 1977 by the Federal Military Government, was removed by the 1979 Constitution, which gave rights of ownership to state governments, organizations and individuals that the President may authorize to operate television stations. This provision in the Constitution led to the Establishment of the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) in 1992 and resulted subsequently in the issuance of radio, television and cable broadcast licenses to private operators for the first time in the history of broadcasting in Nigeria on 10th June, 1993.

The Commission assigns channels for licences in VHF and UHF depending on licence conditions. Licensee may be allowed to operate a low power transmitter or a high power transmitter. However in all cases, as in radio, coverage area is predetermined by the Commission, based on applicant’s entries in the application form and availability of channels.